Ween Announce 30th Anniversary Deluxe Reissue of Chocolate and Cheese

Ween Announce 30th Anniversary Deluxe Reissue of Chocolate and Cheese

Ween Announce 30th Anniversary Deluxe Reissue of Chocolate and Cheese

Ween is set to commemorate the 30th anniversary of their iconic 1994 album, Chocolate and Cheese, with a deluxe reissue. This special edition, slated for release on August 2, will feature a remastered version of the original album, along with a treasure trove of outtakes and previously unreleased demos.

Renowned audio engineer Bernie Grundman, known for his work on Michael Jackson’s Thriller and Steely Dan’s Aja, has meticulously remastered the album and the 15 bonus tracks. Fans can look forward to a fresh listening experience of the classic tracks, as well as new material that has never been officially released until now.

Among the newly unveiled tracks is an alternate version of “Junkie Boy,” which has been a fan favorite in bootleg circles for years. This version is now available through official channels, giving fans a legitimate way to enjoy it.

Mickey Melchiondo, also known as Dean Ween, shared his thoughts on the reissue in a press release. He humorously noted, “Keeping with Ween tradition, Aaron and I probably picked all the wrong songs, mixed them, and now here they are.” This statement reflects the band’s quirky and self-deprecating style, which has endeared them to fans over the years.

The deluxe edition will be available as a 3xLP set, offering a comprehensive collection of Ween’s work from that era. The remastered tracks include fan favorites like “Take Me Away,” “Spinal Meningitis (Got Me Down),” “Freedom of ’76,” and “Voodoo Lady.” Each track has been given a new lease on life with Grundman’s expert touch.

The bonus tracks are a mix of outtakes and demos, providing a deeper insight into the band’s creative process. Titles like “Warm Socks,” “Smooth Mover,” and “Dirty Money” are among the previously unreleased gems. Additionally, fans will get to hear demo versions of “Candi,” “Take Me Away,” “Voodoo Lady,” and “Roses Are Free.”

Here is the full tracklist for Chocolate and Cheese (Deluxe Edition):

LP1, Side One:

1. Take Me Away (2024 Remastered)

2. Spinal Meningitis (2024 Remastered)

3. Freedom of ’76 (2024 Remastered)

4. I Can’t Put My Finger on It (2024 Remastered)

LP1, Side Two:

5. A Tear for Eddie (2024 Remastered)

6. Roses Are Free (2024 Remastered)

7. Baby Bitch (2024 Remastered)

8. Mister, Would You Please Help My Pony? (2024 Remastered)

LP2, Side One:

9. Drifter in the Dark (2024 Remastered)

10. Voodoo Lady (2024 Remastered)

11. Joppa Road (2024 Remastered)

12. Candi (2024 Remastered)

LP2, Side Two:

13. Buenas Tardes Amigo (2024 Remastered)

14. The HIV Song (2024 Remastered)

15. What Deaner Was Talkin’ About (2024 Remastered)

16. Don’t Shit Where You Eat (2024 Remastered)

LP3, Side One:

1. Crappy Anniversary Jimmy *

2. Warm Socks *

3. Stop, Look, Listen (And Learn) *

4. Dirty Money *

5. I Got It *

6. Belgian Stew *

7. Voodoo Lady (Demo) *

LP3, Side Two:

8. Junkie Boy *

9. Smooth Mover *

10. Church Fire *

11. Take Me Away (Demo) *

12. Sasha

13. Roses Are Free (Demo) *

14. Candi (Demo) *

15. I Really Miss You (And I’m All Alone) *

* previously unreleased

Chocolate and Cheese (Deluxe Edition) will be available through Rhino Records. Fans can pre-order the album now to ensure they get their hands on this special release. This reissue is a must-have for any Ween enthusiast, offering a blend of nostalgia and new discoveries.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top